Sergio Pellegrino, Chairman, Aerospace Historical Society

The Aerospace Historical Society, and the Graduate Aerospace Laboratories of the California Institute of Technology, and the Jet Propulsion Laboratory have a rich heritage in the preservation of the world history of aerospace and in the recognition of renowned aerospace pioneers. Since 1985 the Society has honored many aerospace pioneers with the International von Kármán Wings Award.

The Aerospace Historical Society established an Academic Scholarship in 2010 in memory of its founder Dr. Shirley Thomas. The award is presented annually at the International von Kármán Wings Award banquet to a student in aerospace engineering or a related science that shows promise for continued future contributions to the field.


The 34th Annual

Award Ceremony & Banquet

Thursday, 6 p.m., January 16, 2020

Reception 6:00 p.m. & Banquet 7:00 p.m.
Cocktail/Business attire

The Athenaeum at Caltech
551 S. Hill Avenue
Pasadena, CA 91106
View Google Map
Parking and Directions (pdf)


Gwynne Shotwell

Gwynne Shotwell

President and COO, SpaceX

As President and COO of SpaceX, Gwynne Shotwell is responsible for day-to-day operations and managing all customer and strategic relations to support company growth. She joined SpaceX in 2002 as Vice President of Business Development and built the Falcon vehicle family manifest to more than 100 launches, representing more than $10 billion in business. Read full bio »

Wings Award
The International von Kármán Wings Award is designed and created by Donald Paglia, M.D., and casting is by Kalonite Sculpture Studio.